Adding HashMap-style storage layout to Solidity

Have there been discussions in the past on adding enumerable HashMaps to Solidity?

Current mapping types are very gas-efficient but have several other drawbacks:

1. Impossible to enumerate keys/values
  2. Unintuitive for devs coming from other languages
  3. Inaccessible to off-chain analysis tools

If there is interest in discussing this, I would be happy to help work on it (I have no experience with CPP, but I’ll manage).
I have a possible spec in mind (that still requires work), but I didn’t wanna share anything before I understand the history and see whether there is interest in implementing such a thing.

1 Like

This is an inherent limitation of how mappings work. Mappings are relatively cheap because they’re not implemented as a complicated data structure but instead treat the whole storage as a massive array where collisions are unlikely as long as the keys you calculate are random enough.

Impossible to enumerate keys/values

The simple way around it is to store the keys separately if you actually need them. Implementing an iterable mapping is pretty simple. There’s even an example of that in the docs: Iterable Mappings.

You can also find a robust implementation of EnumerableMap in OpenZeppelin.

Inaccessible to off-chain analysis tools

Well, they’re accessible if you have access to a node and can inspect storage. But if you mean that they cannot be easily returned from functions, the issue is that mappings can be massive. A very common use case is to store something for every address that interacts with a contract.

I have a possible spec in mind (that still requires work), but I didn’t wanna share anything before I understand the history and see whether there is interest in implementing such a thing.

I think this is something that should be done in external libraries, not in the compiler. I’d recommend taking a look at OpenZeppelin’s EnumerableMap I linked above to see if you can improve it.