Some questions about the Solidity language

Hello,
I’m a new programmer and don’t know anything about the Solidity programming language. Is it a good language for the beginners?
How about its future? Could it a good skill for job hunting?
It’s just useful for the Ethereum?

Thank you.

Hi @hack3rcon!

I’ll try to go through your questions 1-by-1.

I’m a new programmer and don’t know anything about the Solidity programming language. Is it a good language for the beginners?

In one of our AMAs one of the Solidity team members, Kamil, responded the following to a similar question (link to his original post):

Solidity is not a big language so there’s no reason not to learn it right away if that’s your ultimate goal. But yeah, the real difficulty is not in knowing the language syntax but in the details like avoiding security problems, being able to optimize your contract to use a reasonable amount of gas and designing your functions well so that you don’t have to change them down the line. If you’re new to programming, it will take some time before you have enough background to tackle these. Depending on how long term is your plan, either focus on getting that background or don’t sweat the details, just try something like https://cryptozombies.io and try to build something for fun even if it won’t be perfect.

To be honest, in many dApps the smart contract is just a small part that’s not updated often. A lot of work goes into the stuff that lets users interact with it. And building that part requires a completely different skillset than the contract. UI design, creating a web or phone app, for one thing. The domain specific thing that’s the whole point of your app for another. In some cases your app might require a full-blown P2P client. If you’re just starting out, you won’t be able to focus on all these things at once so you have to choose the part that interests you the most.